Top Stories

Disaster Assistance Available for Maine Farmers

| December 11, 2013


WASHINGTON, DC – Farmers in a number of Maine counties are now eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) disaster assistance.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack issued a disaster designation Wednesday for Aroostook and Penobscot counties due to damage and losses caused by excessive precipitation that occurred from May 1st through September 30th. In addition to Penobscot and Aroostook, the USDA has designated Hancock, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo and Washington counties as contiguous disaster counties also eligible for assistance. This disaster designation makes farm operators in these counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA). According to the USDA, eligible farmers have 8 months to apply for benefits.
“This past crop season has been difficult for a number of our agricultural producers,” said Congressman Mike Michaud. “The USDA provides critical assistance when disasters strike, and I encourage Mainers to contact their local FSA office to learn more about how these programs can help.”
For more information on FSA programs and eligibility requirements, Mainers should contact the Maine FSA office at 207-990-9140 or visit the FSA website.
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

Tags: , , , ,

Category: News

Comments are closed.