Top Stories

County Recognizes Scholar Athletes

| March 18, 2014

Scholar Athletes from WAGM-TV on Vimeo.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

It’s a night to honor 36 county senior athletes… Those that have excelled in multiple areas during their high school career.

“The schools are looking for a top scholar, and a person who has been a good citizen, active in the community, and a person who’s contributed to the school’s athletic program,” said Aroostook League Secretary Treasurer, Bob White.

The annual County Scholar Athlete Banquet has been honoring athletes since 2010. It’s a night JUST for them… Praising their hard work and dedication to all aspects of being a student athlete.

“A lot of people think a scholar athlete is gonna be the big name,” said White. “But we’ve had many times people who are scholar athletes- they were not the number one players on the team- we’ve had managers be scholar athletes. So we are fortunate that we do have a fine crop of student athletes throughout the county.”

And some of those athletes even get a little extra reward for being a scholar athlete. This year, the Aroostook League is handing out eight $400 scholarships to those athletes lucky enough to have their name drawn at random. But there’s also an incentive to get the athlete to not only pursue a higher education but to continue it.

“This money will not be given to them until they are successfully starting their second semester in an accredited school,” added White. “They can use it for books, they can use it for travel back and forth to school, whatever their needs are.”


This year’s Scholar Athletes:

Ashland: Nick Belanger, Rachel Gillis

Caribou: Kameron Manter, Delaney Williams

CAHS: Spencer Garrison, Megan King

East Grand: Logan Crone, Theresa Cousins

Easton: Hunter Turner, Cassandra Buck

Fort Fairfield: Noah Bernard, Logan Bubar

Fort Kent: Cody Plourde, Rudy Martin

GHCA: Aaron Holmes, Caitlin Miles

Hodgdon: Tyler Sherman, Courtney Jurson

Houlton: Elijah Crockett, Samantha Keegan

Katahdin: Forrest Heath, Morgan Livezey

LCS/MSSM: Chris Bernier, Jordyn Hopkins

Madawaska: Jacob Gendreau, Leah Gonneville

Presque Isle: Josh Gordon, Jacqueline Lambert

SAHS: Trenton Cullinan, Mataya Hartin

Van Buren: Nicholas LaJoie, Parise Rossignol

Washburn: Chandler Dobson, Carsyn Koch

Wisdom: Justin Pelletier, Alyssa Dumond

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

Tags: , , ,

Category: Sports

Comments are closed.