Top Stories

Call for nominations for 2014 Aroostook Entrepreneur of the Year Award

| February 19, 2014


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone

Entrepreneurship plays a vital role in the growth of the U.S. economy; and small businesses are also the backbone of our economy here in the County. A competition applauding entrepreneurial spirit is now reaching out to the public for nominations for the 2014 Entrepreneur of the year. News Source 8’s Angela Christoforos reports…

Executive Director of LEAD Ryan Pelletier said, “In Aroostook County we have a lot of hidden gems, a lot of entrepreneurs and business owners who quietly go about their day to day work and never get the recognition that we want to give them.”

Entrepreneurs of all ages are encouraged to enter; and the 2014 Entrepreneur of the year will be chosen by a selection committee involving the County’s educational institutions.

NMCC President Tim Crowley said, “About 60% of our graduates stay in the region and they work in small businesses, so it’s really important for those small businesses to thrive and that is the backbone of the economy here.”

Community members are encouraged to fill out nomination forms that can be found online at The award will be given to a business leader who demonstrates success and excellence in innovation and personal commitment to their business and the community.

“It’s not only important for the community but it’s important for the state of Maine to understand that there’s very good work going on here very creative people in an entrepreneurial spirit that’s hard to beat,” said Crowley.

The competition is held annually to encourage business growth in the County, and to showcase the success of those that have done it already.

All nominations must be received by April 4th, and the Entrepreneur of the Year along with all of the nominees will be recognized during a special recognition dinner in May. The 2014 Entrepreneur of the Year will win a cash prize of $500.

Previous winners include David Harbison of Bison Pumps in Houlton, Matt Bell of Northeast Pellets in Ashland, Northern Maine Distilling’s Jessica Jewell and Scott Galbiati and Troy Haney of Haney Building Specialties in Caribou.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someone


Category: News

Comments are closed.